Life in the Bend


Legal Parents!!! Travel Dates!!!
December 14, 2007, 6:14 pm
Filed under: adoption, Atticus, Norah

We’re legally the parents of Norah and Atticus!!!! I just returned home from work to find a message that our adoption coordinator left yesterday asking us to call. My cell phone has been dead all day and we were at a Christmas party late last night, so I was a little behind on my messages. Anyhow, the lawyer for our agency was able to present our case to the Ethiopian court early yesterday and we made it. It’s official.

We were also given an embassy date and a travel date. We need to be in Addis Ababa on February 4th to begin filling out paperwork and our embassy date will be February 7th. We should be returning home on the 11th. Of course, those dates are slightly approximate because we still need to book flights. Still, in seven and a half weeks we’ll be meeting our kids for the first time. Can you believe it?!!!! I can’t!


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations, Betsy & Paul! Matt and I are very excited for you and have been diligently following your blog. We can’t wait to see more pictures and hear about Atticus and Nora! Congratulations!!!!!Love,Kelaine & Matt

Comment by Kelaine

YAY! I am so happy for you!

Comment by Pennythrower

How great! To find out even before you expected! Spares you some anxiety!!!!Very happy for you, and we’re happy to be one step closer to our niece and nephew.

Comment by Amy

Congratulations we are so glad for you…Did your mother tell you about the stroller we have for you??? I will tell Aunt Donna in the morning. Can’t wait to see more pictures and to see you actually holding your children.Love, Uncle Eddie

Comment by Ed

WHOOOHOOOO! i woke up this morning thinking of your good news! and i was thinking of your plane flight; i want to remind you to get one of those travel pillows that wrap around your neck. I got one for my mom for her trip to syria in 13 days… they are NECESSARY. i am sure you know this but i woke up thinking about it. i’m so weird…. love you!

Comment by Pennythrower

Wonderful news! Congratulations! We hope to travel sometime in February, so maybe we’ll end up being there together! So so thrilled for you guys. Happy packing! I have an Ethiopia adoption electronic packing list if you’re interested. Just post a comment on my blog or give me a call.

Comment by Chris and Christina

I’ve already said congratulations, but when I read your post here I got goosebumps! I can just so happy for you!!!

Comment by lindsay

Yay! This is so soon! I love the new nursery coming together.

Comment by Jen

I am so happy for you two…Congratulations…i love your Christmas card too, your mother mailed it on to me!!! what fun we will all have at camp next year….Merry Christmas!!! love leslie

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a comment